International Ice Hockey Federation

2018 Olympic Winter Games

2018 Olympic Winter Games

Men's tournament

Published 25.09.2017 22:35 GMT+11 | Author Contributed
2018 Olympic Winter Games
Canada's Marc-Edouard Vlasic, Rick Nash, P.K. Subban, Jeff Carter and Sidney Crosby are all smiles after a 3-0 gold medal win over Sweden. Photo: Jeff Vinnick / HHOF-IIHF Images
The 2018 Olympic Winter Games will take place in PyeongChang, Korea, 9-25 February 2018.

The men’s and women’s ice hockey tournaments are scheduled to take place at venues in the city of Gangneung. Korea as the host nation will be qualified for both the men’s and women’s tournaments.

For the 2018 Olympic men’s ice hockey tournament the top-8 nations of the 2015 IIHF Men’s World Ranking will be automatically qualified and seeded according to the ranking. The three qualifiers will be determined in the three stages of the Olympic Qualification starting in the 2015/2016 season according to the schematic below.

The 2018 Olympic men’s ice hockey tournament will be played according to the same format used in Sochi 2014 and Vancouver 2010 with three groups of four teams each. The best four teams from an overall 12-team ranking – the group winners and the second-ranked team with the best record – will advance to the quarter-finals while the other teams will play a qualification playoff game.

Olympic Winter Games, Men’s Ice Hockey Tournament (9-25 February 2018)
Group A: Canada (1), Czech Republic (6), Switzerland (7), Korea (12) 
Group B: Russia (2), USA (5), Slovakia (8), Qualifier 3 
Group C: Sweden (3), Finland (4), Qualifier 1, Qualifier 2 

Final Olympic Qualification (1-4 September 2016) 
Group D: Belarus (9), Slovenia (14), Denmark (15), Qualifier 6. In Belarus. 
Group E: Latvia (10), Germany (13), Austria (16), Qualifier 5. In Latvia. 
Group F: Norway (11), France (12), Kazakhstan (17), Qualifier 4. In Norway. 

Olympic Pre-Qualification (11-14 February 2016) 
Group G: Italy (18), Great Britain (23), Netherlands (24), Qualifier 8. In Italy. 
Group H: Hungary (19), Poland (22), Lithuania (25), Qualifier 7. In Hungary. 
Group J: Japan (20), Ukraine (21), Croatia (26), Romania (27). In Sapporo, Japan. 

Olympic Preliminary Qualification (5-8 November 2015) 
Group K: Estonia (28), Mexico (31), Israel (32), BUL/GEO. In Estonia. 
Group L: Serbia (29), Spain (30), Iceland (33), China (34). In Spain. 

Qualification Game (10 October 2015)
Bulgaria (35) vs. Georgia (36) in Sofia, Bulgaria.

Note: The qualifiers for the Olympics and the various qualification tournaments will be entered in the order according to their position in the 2015 IIHF Men’s World Ranking. The numbers in brackets are seeding positions for the 2018 Olympic Winter Games and the Qualification.


Back to Overview